Post & Telegraph of Bankura
        Post & Telegraph        

   Within the last five years the Telephone system of the district Bankura improving fast. Now the telephone service of the district is provided by BSNL, Hutch, Airtel, Reliance, Tata Indicom, Smart and Aircel. Out of which only BSNL is the India Govt. company and the others are private companies. Although BSNL connects most of the areas including rural villages of the district, fair competition between private companies to provide better and low cost telephone services to rural people has already been started.


  Total number of exchanges for fixed phones of BSNL is 61. Approximate number of BSNL mobile subscriber in Bankura is more 20000. The service is being provided by 60 mobile towers. In rural areas of the district were directly connected through WLL & VPT services provided by BSNL.
   Other private mobile telephone service providers (e.g. Hutch, Airtel, Reliance, Tata Indicom, Smart and Aircel) are allowing their GSM & CDMA services at much lower fees than BSNL. Reliance & Tata Indicom are also providing CDMA based wireless fixed line connections.

No of BSNL Exchange : 61
No of Mobile Service providers : 7
No. of  P.C.O. (Only Phone)  : 135
Note: All the major exchanges of Bankura Telecom have Internet Facility.
Postal Service

The head office of the Postal Department of the district is located at Machantala of Bankura town. As per Indian system the postal service od the district is divided in to two departments eg. Departmental & Extra Departmental. The Senior Superintendent of Posts controls all the four division of the department. These divisions are Bankura Central Subdivision, Bankura North Subdivision, Bankura South Subdivision, Bishnupur Subdivision & Khatra Subdivision. All pin code of the district starts with three digit - 722. Apart from distributing mails the department also known for its financial services and postal Insurance. The financial services provided by the department are the Savings Account, Recurring Account, Term Deposit, Kishan Vikas Patra (KVP), National Savings Certificate (NSC), Public Provident Find (PPF) and Monthly Interest Savings (MIS). The department also collects Telephone Bills.

Post Office Bankura
Facts & Figures
1. Head Post Office   : 1
2. Sub-Post Office   : 52
3. Extra Departmental Sub-Post Office : 23
4. Extra Departmental Branch Post Office : 400
5. Departmental Telegraph Office  : 1
6. Post Office with Telegraph Facilities : 26